Governors Of Tennessee , The (The Pelican Governors Series)

Governors Of Tennessee , The (The Pelican Governors Series)

  • Publish Date: 2002-02-28
  • Binding: Paperback
  • Author: Margaret Phillips
Brand: Pelican Publishing
Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Attention: For textbook, access codes and supplements are not guaranteed with used items.

Arrives in 3-7 Business Days

This meticulously researched work, the fourth volume in Pelican's Governors of the States Series, traces the lives and careers of the men who have held Tennessee's highest office, beginning with the founding of the original independent state of Franklin in 1784 and continuing to the present.

As author Margaret I. Phillips vividly documents, Tennessee's history and culture have been profoundly shaped by a number of strong, dynamic governors. These leaders include the first governor, charismatic John Sevier, who served six terms; the near-legendary Sam Houston; and two men who later became president of the United States, James K. Polk (1845-1849) and Andrew Johnson (1865-1869). Other notable figures who occupied the statehouse include the scholarly Archibald Roane; William Blount, the patriotic zealot; William Carroll, the pioneering Babbitt ; Joseph McMinn, the peaceful negotiator ; tart-tongued James Lean Jimmy Jones; and Robert Love Taylor, the pardoning governor.

Customer Reviews