The Dream Lover: A Novel
The Dream Lover: A Novel

The Dream Lover: A Novel

  • Publish Date: 2015-04-14
  • Binding: Hardcover
Vendor
Random House
Regular price
$34.08
Sale price
$17.46
Quantity must be 1 or more

Attention: For textbook, access codes and supplements are not guaranteed with used items.

Arrives in 3-7 Business Days

NEW YORK TIMESBESTSELLER NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY USA TODAY Elizabeth Berg has written a lush historical novel based on the sensuous Parisian life of the nineteenth-century writer George Sandwhich is perfect for readers of Nancy Horan and Elizabeth Gilbert.

At the beginning of this powerful novel, we meet Aurore Dupin as she is leaving her estranged husband, a loveless marriage, and her familys estate in the French countryside to start a new life in Paris. There, she gives herself a new nameGeorge Sandand pursues her dream of becoming a writer, embracing an unconventional and even scandalous lifestyle.

Paris in the nineteenth century comes vividly alive, illuminated by the story of the loves, passions, and fierce struggles of a woman who defied the confines of society. Sands many lovers and friends include Frdric Chopin, Gustave Flaubert, Franz Liszt, Eugne Delacroix, Victor Hugo, Marie Dorval, and Alfred de Musset. As Sand welcomes fame and friendship, she fights to overcome heartbreak and prejudice, failure and loss. Though considered the most gifted genius of her time, she works to reconcile the pain of her childhood, of disturbing relationships with her mother and daughter, and of her intimacies with women and men. Will the life she longs for always be just out of reacha dream?

Brilliantly written in luminous prose, and with remarkable insights into the heart and mind of a literary force, The Dream Lover tells the unforgettable story of a courageous, irresistible woman.

Praise for The Dream Lover

Exquisitely captivating . . . Sands story is so timely and modern in an era when gender and sexual roles are upended daily.USA Today

Fantastic . . . a provocative and dazzling portrait . . . Berg tells a terrific story, while simultaneously exploring sexuality, art, and the difficult personal choices women artists in particular madethen and nowin order to succeed. . . . The book, imagistic and perfectly paced, full of dialogue that clips along, is a readers dream.The Boston Globe

Absorbing . . . an armchair travelers delight . . . Berg rolls out the wonders of nineteenth-century Paris in cinematic bursts that capture its light, its street life, its people and sounds. . . . The result is an illuminating portrait of a magnificent woman whose story is enriched by the delicate brush strokes of Bergs colorful imagination.Chicago Tribune

There is authority and confidence in the storytelling that makes the pages fly.The New York Times

Berg weaves an enchanting novel about the real life of George Sand.Us Weekly

Lavishly described . . . Berg uses her own skill as a writer to graphically present the reader with a clear picture of a brilliant, yet flawed woman.Fredericksburg Free LanceStar

[A] beautiful, imaginative re-creation . . . Bergs years-long immersion in the writings of and about Sand has resulted in a remarkable channeling of Sands voice.Library Journal (starred review)

Berg offers vivid, sensual detail and a sensitive portrayal of the yearning and vulnerability behind Sands bold persona.Publishers Weekly

A thoroughly pleasant escape . . . [Sand is] intoxicating, beautiful, gifted, desirous, unconventional and heartbroken.Kirkus Reviews

Customer Reviews