Death And The Maiden: A Max Liebermann Mystery
Death And The Maiden: A Max Liebermann Mystery

Death And The Maiden: A Max Liebermann Mystery

Vendor
Random House Trade Paperbacks
Regular price
$37.94
Sale price
$22.38
Quantity must be 1 or more

Attention: For textbook, access codes and supplements are not guaranteed with used items.

Arrives in 3-7 Business Days

Frank Tallis, acclaimed author of the Edgar Awardnominated Vienna Secrets, returns with a new and masterfully woven tale full of deceit, love, and rich mystery. Set in fin de sicle Vienna, its perfect for fans of Boris Akunin, Alan Furst, and David Liss.

Ida Rosenkranz is top diva at the Vienna Opera, but shes gone silent for good after an apparent laudanum overdose. Learning of her professional rivalries and her scandalous affairs with older men, Detective Inspector Oskar Rheinhardt and Dr. Max Liebermann suspect foul play instead. Their investigation leads them into dark and dangerous conflicts with Gustav Mahler, the operas imperious director, who is himself the target of a poison pen campaign, and Karl Lueger, Viennas powerful and anti-Semitic mayor. As the peril escalates, Rheinhardt grows further into his role as family man, while Liebermann finds himself at odds with his inamorata, Amelia, whos loosening both her corset and her tongue in the new feminist movement.

PRAISE FOR FRANK TALLISS VIENNA THRILLERS

[A] captivating historical series.The New York Times Book Review

[A] riveting read . . . with well researched and wonderfully imagined period detail.The Guardian (U.K.), on Vienna Twilight

Chock-full of tantalizing elements.The Austin Chronicle, on Vienna Secrets

Engrossing . . . immensely satisfying.The Boston Globe, on Fatal Lies

Customer Reviews