Where The Red Fern Grows

Where The Red Fern Grows

  • Publish Date: 2016-05-03
  • Binding: Hardcover
  • Author: Wilson Rawls
Vendor
Random House USA Inc
Regular price
$35.62
Sale price
$18.62
Quantity must be 1 or more

Attention: For textbook, access codes and supplements are not guaranteed with used items.

Arrives in 3-7 Business Days

For fans of Old Yeller and Shiloh, Where the Red Fern Grows is a beloved classic that captures the powerful bond between man and mans best friend. This special edition includes new material, including a note to readers from Newbery Medal winner and Printz Honor winner Clare Vanderpool, a letter from Wilson Rawls to aspiring writers, original jacket artwork, and more.

Billy has long dreamt of owning not one, but two dogs. So when hes finally able to save up enough money for two pups to call his ownOld Dan and Little Annhes ecstatic. Its true that times are tough, but together theyll roam the hills of the Ozarks.
Soon Billy and his hounds become the finest hunting team in the valley. Stories of their great achievements spread throughout the region, and the combination of Old Dans brawn, Little Anns brains, and Billys sheer will seems unbeatable. But tragedy awaits these determined huntersnow friendsand Billy learns that hope can grow out of despair.

Praise for Where the Red Fern Grows

A Top 100 Childrens Novel, School Library Journal
A Must-Read for Kids 9 to 14, NPR
Winner of 4 State Awards
Over 7 million copies in print!

A rewarding book . . . [with] careful, precise observation, all of it rightly phrased. The New York Times Book Review

One of the great classics of childrens literature . . . Any child who doesnt get to read this beloved and powerfully emotional book has missed out on an important piece of childhood for the last 40-plus years. Common Sense Media

An exciting tale of love and adventure youll never forget. School Library Journal

A book of unadorned naturalness. Kirkus Reviews

Written with so much feeling and sentiment that adults as well as children are drawn [in] with a passion. Arizona Daily Star

Its a story about a young boy and his two hunting dogs and . . . I cant even go on without getting a little misty. The Huffington Post

A brilliant literary work. TeenInk.com

We tear up just thinking about it. Time on the film adaptation Author Wilson Rawls spent his boyhood much like the character of this book, Billy Colman, roaming the Ozarks of northeastern Oklahoma with his bluetick hound. A straightforward, shoot-from-the-hip storyteller with a searingly honest voice, Rawls is well-loved for this powerful 1961 classic and the award-winning novel Summer of the Monkeys. In Where the Red Fern Grows, Billy and his precious coonhound pups romp relentlessly through the Ozarks, trying to "tree" the elusive raccoon. In time, the inseparable trio wins the coveted gold cup in the annual coon-hunt contest, captures the wily ghost coon, and bravely fights with a mountain lion. When the victory over the mountain lion turns to tragedy, Billy grieves, but learns the beautiful old Native American legend of the sacred red fern that grows over the graves of his dogs. This unforgettable classic belongs on every child's bookshelf. (Ages 9 and up)

Customer Reviews