The Siege
The Siege

The Siege

Vendor
Weidenfeld & Nicolson
Regular price
$42.78
Sale price
$24.88
Quantity must be 1 or more

Attention: For textbook, access codes and supplements are not guaranteed with used items.

Arrives in 3-7 Business Days

WINNER OF THE CRIME WRITERS ASSOCIATIONS INTERNATIONAL DAGGER

For fans of Alan Furst and Carlos Ruiz Zafn comes a haunting and layered thriller filled with history, adventure, suspense, and an unforgettable love storyby the internationally bestselling author Arturo Prez-Reverte.


Cdiz, 1811: The Spanish port city has been surrounded by Napoleons army for a year. Their backs to the sea, its residents endure routine bombardments and live in constant fear of a French invasion. And now the bodies of random women have begun to turn up throughout the cityvictims of a shadowy killer.

Police Comisario Rogelio Tizn has been assigned the case. Known for his razor-sharp investigation skillsas well as his brutal interrogation methodsTizn has seen everything. Or so he thought. His inquiry into the murders reveals a surprising pattern: Each victim has been found where a French bomb exploded. Logic tells him to pass it off as coincidence; his instinct tells him otherwise, and he begins to view Cdiz as a living chessboard, with himself and the killer the main players.

In a city pushed to the brink, violence and desperation weave together the lives of a group of unlikely people: the Spanish taxidermist who doubles as a French spy; the young woman who uses her fathers mercantile business to run the enemy blockade; the rough-edged corsair who tries to resist her charms; and the brilliant academic furiously trying to perfect the French armys artillery and bring Cdiz to its knees once and for all. And as Napoleon presses closer, Tizn must make his next move on the bomb-scarred chessboard before the killer claims another pawn.

Combining fast-paced narrative with scrupulous historical accuracy, this smart, suspenseful tale of human resilience is Arturo Prez-Reverte at the height of his talents.

Praise for The Siege

A genre-bending literary thriller . . . Pirates; serial killings; steamy, unrequited love: Prez-Reverte imbues the sensational with significance. . . . His descriptions of the town and people of Cdiz capture colors, smells and personalities, making the page come to life, and he balances these sensory passages with dense observations about history, metaphysics, science, and human nature.Kirkus Reviews

Bold . . . [Prez-Revertes] best yet . . . an ambitious intellectual thriller peopled with colorful rogues and antiheroes, meticulous in its historical detail, with a plot that rattles along to its unexpected finale. Its hard to think of a contemporary author who so effortlessly marries popular and literary fiction as enjoyably as this.The Observer

Prez-Reverte has long been Spains most popular, inventive writer of historical fiction. . . . This is a big and bold novel, rich in character and incident.The Sunday Times

Acclaim for Arturo Prez-Reverte

John le Carr meets Gabriel Garca Mrquez . . . Prez-Reverte has a huge following . . . and its spreading.The Wall Street Journal

The Da Vinci Code and The Rule of Four . . . pale in comparison with Prez-Revertes novels.Time Out New York

Its a rare novelist who can create a literary page-turner. Arturo Prez-Reverte . . . is one of those rarities.The Denver Post

Customer Reviews